How to Hide Your Friends on Facebook

Social Media

By TheOnlineMom

While Facebook users have become more careful about publicly disclosing personal information such as date of birth, hometown, high school, and interests, an important part of many Facebook profiles is often left wide open for public scrutiny, and that’s their Friends list.

While some Facebook users may be proud of the fact that they have accumulated several hundred friends, it makes little sense from a personal security standpoint to disclose all those friends to the public. Most people’s Friends list includes family as well as high school and college friends, and it wouldn’t take an outsider much time to fill in the missing gaps in a hidden profile. Plus, by making your Friend list available to the public, you could also be undermining the privacy settings of anyone who is on it.

If you want to hide your Friends list, there are a couple of different ways to do it, depending on whether you are using the Timeline profile:

Timeline users

  • Open your Timeline profile and click on the Friends link, which is under your Timeline photo.
  • Click on the Edit button, which is at the top right of your friends list.
  • This will open a window which asks: “Who can see your full friend list on your timeline?” Click on the arrow and choose Friends. This will restrict your Friends list so only friends can see it. You also have the option to customize who can see your friends, or select from any lists that you may have set up.

If you want to double-check how your profile looks to the public, click on the arrow next to Activity Log, which is  below your Timeline picture. Select the View As option. This will show you how your profile looks to the public, or you can enter an individual’s name if you have set up custom restrictions.

Non-Timeline users

  • Open your profile page and click on Edit Profile in the top right corner. Choose Friends and Family from the list of options on the left-hand side.
  • Click on the arrow to the right of the Friends section and choose Friends. This will restrict your Friends list so only friends can see it. You also have the option to customize who can see your friends or select from any lists that you may have set up.

If you want to double-check how your profile looks to the public, click on the View As button. This will show you how your profile looks to the public, or you can enter an individual’s name if you have set up custom restrictions.

 

The above article is reproduced from TheOnlineMom.com, a web site dedicated to promoting a healthy understanding and appreciation of the positive role technology can play in family life.

 

 

Image source: The Online Mom